March 30, 2017

Kevin Canty selected for Best American Short Stories 2017

Kevin Canty’s “God’s Work” has been selected for THE BEST AMERICAN SHORT STORIES 2017, edited by Meg Wolitzer. The story was originally published in The New Yorker, and the collection will be published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in October.

January 30, 2017

Johanna Stoberock runner-up for The Calvino Prize

An excerpt from Johanna Stoberock’s novel PIGS has been selected as runner up for the 2016 Calvino prize judged this year by Jonathan Lethem.  This international prize honors two writers of outstanding pieces of fiction in the fabulist, experimentalist style of Italo Calvino.

May 27, 2016

Lydia Davis wins Zinklar Award in Copenhagen

Lydia Davis was awarded the 2016 Zinklar Award at the second annual Blixen Ceremony in Copenhagen. The Zinklar Award is given to a Danish or foreign short story writer appointed by the Danish Writers Association, and Julian Barnes was the winner last year.

May 26, 2016

Brandon del Pozo wins the Gary Hayes Memorial Award

Brandon del Pozo has been awarded the Hayes Award granted by the Police Executive Research Forum for innovation and leadership in improving American policing as an “up-and-coming” law enforcement executive whose character, record of leadership, and commitment to better policing embody the ideals to which Gary Hayes was committed. Past recipients include Commissioner William Bratton (New York City) and Charles Ramsey (former Commissioner in Philadelphia and Chief in Washington, DC).

April 5, 2016

Lydia Davis receives The Paris Review’s 2016 Hadada Award

The Paris Review honored Lydia Davis with its Hadada Award for lifetime achievement. Previous recipients include John Ashbery, Joan Didion, Paula Fox, Norman Mailer, Peter Matthiessen, Philip Roth, Norman Rush, and James Salter.