December 23, 2019

Chanelle Benz and Lydia Davis longlisted for 2020 PEN Literary Awards

Chanelle Benz’s THE GONE DEAD was longlisted for the Pen/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel, and Lydia Davis’ ESSAYS ONE was longlisted for the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay. In their announcement on December 13th, PEN stated that “these longlisted books are dynamic, diverse, and thought-provoking examples of literary excellence”.

September 25, 2018

Jess Row receives 2018 Whiting Creative Nonfiction Grant

The Whiting Foundation announced Jess Row as one of six recipients of the Whiting Creative Nonfiction Grant for WHITE FLIGHTS: RACE, FICTION, AND THE AMERICAN IMAGINATION, which will be published by Graywolf Press in 2019. This grant supports writers as they complete a book of well-researched and innovative nonfiction.

April 12, 2018

Kirstin Valdez Quade Wins the Rome Prize

The American Academy in Rome announced Kiristin Valdez Quade as a 2018 Fellow in Literature. She won the Rome Prize for her forthcoming novel. This highly competitive fellowship supports advanced independent work in writing, and includes months’ long residence in Rome.